GPersonem@il

45 million in Arts cuts and what of the “E.I. surplus”?

September 24, 2008
Dear the Minister of Finance the Honourable Jim Flaherty MP,
The Honourable Paul Martin as the Minister of Finance of Canada changed the name of Unemployment Insurance to Employment Insurance and placed a “twenty billion dollar cap” on the intended surplus collected from workers to be used as a “rainy day fund”.
Well there has been no “rainy day” in unemployment in this country since and the surplus as of December 03, 2007 is reported to be at fifty four billion.
OTTAWA–’Canada’s employment insurance “surplus” stands at $54 billion – …….’
I noticed there is a supreme court case now concerning the E.I. surplus, some unions are suing to get these tax funds returned to the rightful owners.
I heard Jack Layton MP and Stephen Harper talking about the E.I. surplus in the House of Commons, the prime minister said that “the Liberals spent the E.I. surplus ten years ago”.
“Spent ten years ago” and yet the Toronto Star is reporting there is a fifty four billion dollar surplus in the account as of December 03, 2007.
My point is, someone should have some questions to answer concerning this “spent” E.I. surplus.
My guess is this Minister of Finance has the most answering to do and since I have heard nothing of this “spent” E.I. surplus in the media, who is asking the questions, the Liberal opposition or the Bloc Quebecois or the NDP? I don’t hear them.
Nobody, including the present Minister of Finance are taking the accountable steps to insure that the over-surplus, the amount over the capped twenty billion, is returned to those who have overpaid.
There should be no more collection of E.I. premiums in this country until the “spent” surplus is collected and those who “spent” the money held “accountable”.
I noticed you are not taking any steps to collect the “54 billion dollar E.I surplus” for Canadians or hold the Liberals “accountable” and either has any of the opposition in the house of commons.
That is not a very accountable government if you asked me.
Why do “we” not fight to get this “spent” ( really stolen) E.I. surplus returned to Canada’s workers and I would add make some political gains doing so?
This is just more of the same-old, same-old, back-room politics, that in my opinion is a just cause for a criminal investigation and a politician or two or three to go to jail.
Is this some kind of joke, the government steals the fifty billion dollar surplus that is supposed to be “capped at twenty billion dollars” in the first place and for “a rainy day” and no one has any thing to say about that, wow?
That is what happens when the robbers guard the bank, eh, Jack Layton?
I know the Liberals and NDP and the Bloc Quebecois have spent two days screaming on television over 45 million dollars in (pretend) cuts to Arts and Culture, give me a BREAK!
54 billion of tax payers money gets “spent” and nobody even takes notice or a second look?

I really do have to question the “loyalty” of Canada’s government and opposition parties.
Sincerely yours,
*
*
* ,Ontario, Canada
*

September 24, 2008 - Posted by | Canadian Politics, Ontario | , ,

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

